I’ve now done three Moringa plantings, totaling over 30 new trees augmenting an otherwise dry and largely treeless landscape. Two have been with student health classes at different schools, one was with community health volunteers tasked with overseeing general health and nutrition issues in their villages. It’s something to be proud of, although my kids/vols did most of the work (don’t worry, they’re awfully proud, too.) I’ve been using it as a sort of transitional activity between the “Environment” unit and “Nutrition & Healthy Foods” unit of the health classes I’m teaching because the Moringa tree (CLICK THE DAMN LINK ALREADY) is miraculous in a number of ways, including being an excellent source of vitamins and minerals when you cook it up like spinach. My students have taken to calling it “Mbogadawa,” which means “vegetable-medicine.”

I have one planting left to do – this time, at my base clinic. I’ll be telling the staff alllllll about the healthful benefits and encouraging them to pass along the seeds when the trees grow large enough to yield them. They have heard about the Moringas (local name: mazungwi) through other government-assisted programs and are happy to have them around. Hunger and malnutrition have always been issues in my area, and with the most severe drought since 1951 looming, a little boost in the “Food Security” department is always welcome.

This has been a good project. Nimefurahi (I am happy.)

