I’m certain you’re all waiting with bated breath for “Kenyan Schoolchildren Say The Darndest Things, Part 2” but I’m afraid you’re going to have to wait a bit longer. My AMERICAN FAMILY is going to be arriving NEXT WEEK (!!!) So I’ve been trying to finish up a few things at the clinic in anticipation of their arrival. I’m taking a proper vacation, my first one since Christmas. I’m rather excited.

In the meantime, I’m going to post a couple pictures for you to ogle and hate me over. High tourist season just started: I’m working on a blog entry about what this means for the local year-round population, which I hope to post when I get some time later in the month. But for now, I’ll just say this: it is the best of times, it is the worst of times. The worst because everyone goes back to assuming I’m an idiot tourist and trying extra-hard to give me the wrong price on everything (transportation, fabric, shoes, food if I’m not buying from my usual sources.) The best because it coincides with the directional shift in the trade winds, which strips the beaches of the thick seaweed that coats them several months out of the year. So if you need me, I’ll be over here wailing and gnashing my teeth at the unconscionable forces that compel public transit drivers to passionately argue that wazungu (“whites”) should be required to pay at least double the correct price for things simply owing to their ethnicity. But I’ll be doing it while sitting at the edge of a perfect sugar-sand beach, watching the cerulean tide roll in from the coral breakers. You are now free to hate my guts.

